Need Someone To Talk To?

Sometimes you need to speak with someone about your ideas. The following are resources for current or future business owners in Washington County.

Sunrise County Economic Council
Business & economic development related services for Washington County businesspeople. SCEC is open Monday through Friday with offices in Calais and Machias. Please call or email us in for an appointment.

Charles Rudelitch
Sunrise County Economic Council
53 Prescott Drive, Suite 3
Machias, ME 04654
207-255-0983
Crudelitch@sunrisecounty.org


Coastal Enterprises Inc. Women’s Business Center — Business counseling for start ups and existing businesses, provides workshops and training. Available by appointment.

Ruth Cash Smith
CEI Women’s Business Counselor
53 Prescott Drive, Suite 3
Machias, ME 04654
207-255-0983
Ruth.Cash-Smith@ceimaine.org


Downeast Business Alliance —   Micro-entrepreneur business planning, technical assistance, training and networking.

Sarah Nugent
Director
PO Box 299
248 Bucksport Road
Ellsworth, ME 04605
207-610-5994
snugent@whcacap.org


Northern Maine Development Commission — Business advice and counseling for Aroostook and Washington counties; available by appointment.

Judy Dinsmore
Executive Coordinator
Northern Maine Development Commission
11 West Presque Isle Road
PO Box 779
Caribou, ME 04736
207-498-8736
jdinsmore@nmdc.org


University of Maine Cooperative Extension — Washington County business counseling and training. Workshops are also available.


Washington County Council of Governments — Community planning resources & information.

Judy East
Washington County COG
PO Box 631
Calais, ME 04619
207-454-0465
jceast@wccog.net


Washington County UT TIF Program — Washington County’s TIF district was created to capture tax monies generated by the Stetson I and Stetson II wind farms located in the unorganized territories near Danforth. This arrangement will make funds available for grants and loans to people and organizations who want to create and expand businesses and other opportunities in any of the unorganized territories of Washington County, Maine.

Susan Hatton
Program Manager
Sunrise County Economic Council
53 Prescott Drive, Suite 3
Machias, ME 04654

1 College Drive
Calais, ME 04619
Phone: 207-255-0983
email: shatton@sunrisecounty.org